Category Archives: Results

Results for Track, Road, Cross, MTB etc

Welwyn Track League Report – 10 July 2015


Sponsored by Peloton Hatfield

Great ride by Lauren Higham. 

10/07/15 at Welwyn Wheelers track league meeting Sponsored by Peloton Hatfield and supported by Herts County Council. Saw 26 youth riders take to the track and 31 senior riders. Disappointingly only 10 senior A riders, it’s hoped some will return for a madison evening on the 31/07/15 with the main event being a 60 lap points race.

The senior A racing return to form this week with John McClelland (Bush Healthcare CRT) riding strongly all night to take the majority of the races.

The senior B racing was a competitive affair with some great riding by James Ambrose- Parish (Lea Valley). Ambrose-Parish best ride was in the Devil where he held off strong competition to take the win.

The youth AB racing gave the highlight of the night with a great ride by Lauren Higham (Welwyn Wheelers) in the handicap race, holding off the inform Alexi Edwards (Palmer Park) to take the win by a tyre width.

Max Jackson (Welwyn Wheelers) had a good night in the Youth CDE picking up two wins. On the downside for Jackson his handicap placings will definitely now be reviewed after these wins.

Senior A

10 lap Scratch – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare CRT) William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers) Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tax RT) Joel Stewart (Kenton CC)

10 Lap Block Pursuit – Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tax RT) Michael Parry (Welwyn Wheelers) Joel Stewart (Kenton CC)

Devil – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare CRT) Mark Smith (Pro Cycle Hire UK RT) Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tax RT) Joel Stewart (Kenton CC)

10 Mile Scratch – John McClelland (Bush Healthcare CRT) Alex Pierce (Willesden CC) Mike Broadwith (Arctic Tax RT) William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers)

Senior B

10 lap scratch – Keith Bryceland (Welwyn Wheelers) Ryan Green (Lee Valley) Ben Webster (Welwyn Wheelers) Sophie Lankford (Team WNT)

10 Lap Block Pursuit – James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley) Keith Bryceland (Welwyn Wheelers) Ryan Green (Lee Valley) Sophie Lankford (Team WNT)

Devil – James Ambrose-Parish (Lee Valley) Ben Webster (Welwyn Wheelers) Toby Miles (Welwyn Wheelers) Laurence Lisher (Green Arrow CRT)

Youth AB

8 Lap Scratch – Alexi Edwards (Palmer Park) Christian Manzi (Lee Valley) Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers)

8 Lap Block Pursuit – Alexi Edwards (Palmer Park) Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers) Nathan Blackmore (Welwyn Wheelers)

7 Lap Hare & Hounds – Max Bolton (Lee Valley) Emily Knight (Lee Valley) Lauren Higham (Welwyn Wheelers)

7 Lap Handicap – Lauren Higham (Welwyn Wheelers) Alexi Edwards (Palmer Park) Sam Asker (Welwyn Wheelers)

Youth CDE

3 lap Scratch – Tom Sharples (Welwyn Wheelers) Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers) Euan Woodliffe (Welwyn Wheelers)

4 Lap Block Pursuit – Joe Kiely (Welwyn Wheelers) Michael Sumner (Welwyn Wheelers) Jenna Miles (Welwyn Wheelers)

4 Lap Hare & Hounds – Max Jackson (Welwyn Wheelers) Jenna Miles (Welwyn Wheelers) Euan Woodliffe (Welwyn Wheelers)

4 Lap Handicap – Max Jackson (Welwyn Wheelers) Sammy Gage (Welwyn Wheelers) Ben Griffin (Welwyn Wheelers)

WW Club Youth Track Championships

The Youth Track Championships for under 14, under 12 and under 10 were run on Wednesday 8th July. Each age group had a good entry of riders for the four event Omnium and the racing was keen and competitive on a warm and pleasant evening making it a very successful and enjoyable event. For a number of riders this was their first club championship event.

* Apologies – Grace Bryceland competed in the under 12 group

track champs

My thanks to the many parents and coaches who acted as time keepers, scorers and judges to assist in the running of the event.

Peter Waghorn

Welwyn “One-Two” in thrilling Mud Sweat & Gears round six

Ickworth House in Suffolk played host to the Eastern Region Mud Sweat & Gears Mountain Bike series on Sunday. The recent hot and dry weather suggested a fast and dry course however the morning races started in torrential rain and the nature of the course changed dramatically.

The closest race of the day was the Juvenile girls with the leading riders battling out for series points. Race lead changed hand numerous times with three separate riders holding an advantage, behind the challengers were never far away and the race entered its last lap with all to play for.

In ever muddier conditions the final decent through the woodland saw three riders emerge together and it was Welwyn’s Lauren Higham who pulled away down the final decent and took victory, closely followed by teammate  Imogen Chastell with Harley Pell (CC Ashwell) a further seven seconds back in 3rd.

Some fantastic racing and bike handling in ever-changing conditions.

Mentions also for Joe Kiely who took the win in the U12 race, with Oscar Wade was 21st and Archie Bracewell in 36th. Charles Wade was 15th in the Sport Male Category. Toby Wade 7th in the U9.


Report by John Chastell