Central Region Cyclo-cross League event at Stanborough Park

On Saturday  Welwyn Wheelers promoted the final Central Region Cyclo-cross League event at Stanborough Park. The course was laid out on the south side of the park and the strong winds made the course tough to ride. The course team to set up the event were at work from 6-30 am to ensure that everything was in place for the first race at 10-00am
First race of the day was for the under 10 category in which there were 30 riders and held on a shorter course than the senior riders– the Wheelers were on good form and filled the top three places – Rupert Cavill for his first victory followed by  by Thomas Dixon and Finlay Woodliffe. Next up were the Under 12 group of 28 riders which included seven Wheelers – Euan Woodliffe took a well earned and hard won second place.
The Youth race was run over the full course – Lauren Higham was the clear winner of the under 16 girls race while Gwil Park took third pace in the boys race. In the Under 14 Boys category Archie Peat (Team MK who trains with the Wheelers at Gosling Sports Park) was the winner followed in by Joe Kiely. In the Girls event Wheelers Ellen Bennett and Alice Mills finished second and third.
The various senior races were all completed by 3-00pm and the Wheelers team of helpers were then faced with dismantling the course, collecting all the race equipment and packing it all away to complete a long tough day in difficult weather conditions.  The riders were impressed  with  the new course on the south side of the park and hoped it would be used again.
Six of the Wheelers top youth track riders were on a Regional Squad track training day at the Olympic track at Stratford on Sunday

The final Eastern Cyclo-cross race Ipswich 24th Jan 16

The final Eastern Cyclo-cross race at Ipswich on Sunday resulted in a fantastic set of results for the Wheelers youth riders
Dylan Starkey won the Under 10 race run over 10 laps of a very short course – his first win of the season
The course for the under 16/14 group was much longer with two sections on tarmac and the rest on grass and with very little mud made it a very fast course. Fifty riders were on the start line for the 35 minute race. Oli Stockwell was on good form and was in second place at the end of lap one behind the leading under 16 rider and he opened up  significant gap on the chasers. Star of the day was Elspeth Grace who finished 6th overall and top under 16 girl. Lauren Higham also found the course to her liking and was 12th overall and second girl. Other placings – Joe Kiely 11th, Imogen Chastell 21st and second under 14 girl.
Sofia Chastell won the Womens race and clinched the Junior Womens overall series with a fine positive performance – Ellie Cadzow was in the leading group in the early stages of the race but unfortuneately lost her front tyre and finished well down. In the Senior 40+ race with 70 starters, Keith Stockwell finished in 11th place with a strong ride.
The prizes for the season long Eastern League Series (18 events with 11 to count) were presented after the last race of the day. The Wheelers riders took the major honours in the Youth events – Will Raymond – First overall and top under 16, Olie Stockwell third overall and first under 14 rider. Elspeth Grace and Lauren Higham first and second under 16 girls. The Team Prize was won by the Wheelers for the third year in succession.
A great days racing and confirmation that the Wheelers young riders are a strong force in the local cyco-cross events. The final race of the season will be the Central League event at Stanborough Park
on Saturday February 6th – first race 10-00am.
On Saturday a number of the Wheelers travelled to Hillingdon for the road circuit race – Tom Durkin was 4th in the under 16 category and Oli Stockwell  second in the Under 14 event. Jamie Deane unfortunately was brought down in a crash  in the last few laps of the race.

Muddy Monsters results from 23/01/2016

Click here Muddy Monsters Results 2016

Next weekend the venue is at Hinchingbrooke School not as spelling mistake on BC website.

Muddy Monsters venue instructions 30/01/16

The event is being held on the school playing fields adjacent to Scholars Avenue. Please note there is no parking onsite, but parking is available at Huntingdon Station Car Park (Car park 2). This is a short walk from the entrance to the venue and will be signposted.

Please do not park in Scholars Avenue.

There is no height restriction in the car park and the cost (£2.50) is payable by coins, card or by calling 0345 434 8008; SMS 68680 (location id 3042)

National Cyclocross Trophy series round 6 (17 January 2016)

National Cyclocross Trophy series round 6 (17 January 2016)

Twelve Welwyn Wheelers youth riders travelled to Milton Keynes Bowl for the 6th and final round of the Cyclocross National Trophy on 17 January 2016. The series, which started in a warm, dry Southampton in October, finished on Sunday in a snowy Milton Keynes.

The course made use of the sides of the Bowl with cyclists having to negotiate icy and muddy slopes leading to many slips and slides. Ice built up on shoes and pedals whilst mud covered bikes and bodies.

First off were the under 16 girls. The Welwyn Wheelers riders were Elspeth Grace, Lauren Higham and Freya Butler who was riding in her first National event, this was followed by the under 14 girls, including Imogen Chastell. Elspeth finished 5th on the day but this was enough to put her in second place in the series, winning a silver medal to add to the bronze from the National Championships on 9 January. Lauren finished in 8th place and Freya was 12th. Imogen finished 8th in the under 14 race.

The Youth boys raced an hour later at midday with the snow and ice still covering the ground away from the course but the mud getting deeper on the course. Welwyn Wheelers were represented in the Under 16 boys race by Will Raymond, Sam Asker, Nathan Blackmore and Thomas Durkin. Oli Stockwell, Tom Sharples and Joe Kiely raced in the under 14 boys event. Will continued his consistent form and finished 6th ‘for the third time in the series. Sam finished 23rd, Tom was 29th and Nathan 35th.

In the under 14 boys race Oli made it the fourth time he had finished third in the series and received a bronze national trophy medal. Tom Sharples finished in 19th position but unfortunately Joe did not finish.

A great set of results from a good club turnout with family members working together in the pits to keep the bikes moving.