Success Breeds Success and More Medals

It’s been a crazy period of success since we last reported on Welwyn Wheelers victories in national championships. Since then the club has incredibly amassed another 9 medals in national championships including 5 more gold medals.

In a nicely timed build up the the Tokyo 2020 Olympic games, the medal rush started with Calum Moir and Henry Hobbs both repeating their road circuit achievements by winning their age categories in the National Youth Track Omnium Final at Lee Valley, Leon Atkins finishing in 9th place.

A week later Leon Atkins won gold in the male U14 HSBC UK National Cross Country Championships at Newnham Park. Leon, who led from the start and is still in his first year in the category, gets the honour of wearing the jersey for at least a calendar year – a rare achievement in youth cycling. Lucy Allsop achieved a fine 13th place in the female youth category racing for Welwyn Wheelers.

The next day the British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships commenced at the Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow. Calum picked up gold in the youth sprint and also in the points race, thanks to lapping the field with a group that contained Mark Lightfoot, who came 5th. Mark and Calum later paired-up in the madison to win a deserved silver medal and coming very close to winning the race. Calum completed his collection taking bronze in the 500m TT.

In the junior category Tom Sharples again shone, collecting bronze in the male sprint and silver in the keirin – redemption for a rolled tub in 2019.

An amazing set of achievements, particularly for the Moirs with Welwyn Academy graduate Iona Moir taking gold in the female junior keirin and 500m TT, breaking the British record in the process.

Well done to all our winners and everyone who competed, again you have made a lot of people very proud!

National Youth Track Omnium Final

Youth A Boy
1. Calum Moir

Youth B Boys
1. Henry Hobbs
9. Leon Atkins

HSBC UK National Cross Country Championships, 2021

Juvenile Male
1. Leon Atkins

Youth Female
13. Lucy Allsop

British Cycling National Youth and Junior Track Championships

Youth Boys Sprint
1. Calum Moir
15. Sam Gilbert

Youth Male Points Race
1. Calum Moir
5. Mark Lighfoot

Youth Male 2000m Individual Pursuit
6. Calum Moir

Youth Male 500m Time Trial
3. Calum Moir
16. Sam Gilbert

Youth Male Scratch Race
8. Mark Lightfoot

Youth Male Madison
2. Mark Lightfoot and Calum Moir

Junior Male Sprint
3. Tom Sharples

Junior Male Keirin
2. Tom Sharples