All posts by Welwyn Wheelers

Club Championship Events

Here are some forthcoming events that WW club members need to be aware of:

25 Time Trial Championship for the Eccles Cup – Sunday September 11th Norlond Combine 25 m TT (Biggleswade course) – details on CTT website – pre-entry essential.

Cyclo-cross Championship – based on the results in the Eastern League event run by CC Ashwell on Saturday October 8th.

Peter Waghorn

Hill Climb Championship – based on the results in the North Road CC club event on Sunday 16th October at Digswell Village

The Club will be hosting two Cyclo-cross League events this season:

Eastern League – Sunday 16th October – Stanborough Park
Central League – Saturday 26th November – Stanborough Park

The club trophies for the top riders will be awarded at the Club Social Dinner in January 2017.

Club Track Championships U16, Junior & Senior

The Club Track Championships for the under 16, Junior and Senior riders was run on Wednesday evening at GSP.

Six riders competed in the four  event Omnium format in under 16 group – Will Raymond won all four events to retain his trophy. Nathan Blackmore took second place followed by Gwill Park, Joe Bennett, Freya Butler and Jamie Deane.

Michael Parry and Ben Webster had a close battle in the Junior category. Michael won the 4 lap Time trial while Ben won the Elimination race and the 2 lap Sprint. The winner of the final 6 lap scratch race would determine the overall result. Michael won the scratch race resulting in a tie on 6 points each. In the event of a tie the result of the last race determines the winner so Michael Parry is the Club junior track champion.

The only Senior/Veteran to ride was Ian Hayter

Peter Waghorn

Clothing Sale

Our Clothing Secretary, Jax Rooney, will be selling Welwyn club clothing down at the track this coming Saturday morning from 9am.

Following a recent delivery from our clothing manufacturers, we have good stock of all clothing items; jerseys, shorts, skinsuits, mitts etc… etc…

There will also be some NEW items available:

·         Lightweight rain jacket made from a new high performance fabric called “Gravity” this is windproof & waterproof

·         Gillet with “Gravity” windproof & waterproof fabric to front panels and mesh back, reflective trim on three rear pockets

Download clothing order form here.

We hope you can make it down….

Please make sure you bring your cheque book with you!

Club Track Championships‏

U14 Two lap Time Trial Time  Time Trial Devil Sprint Scratch Total     Position
 Joe Kiely   1.21.22     2      2      4      1      9       1
 Michael Sumner   1.23.16     3      3      1       2      9       2
 Tom Sharples   1.19.68     1      1      3       5     10       3
 Imogen Chastell   1.23.55     4      6      2       3     15       4
 Jenna Miles   1.27.95     5      4      6       4     19       5
 Ellen Bennett   1.28.84     6      5      5       6     22       6
U12  One lap Time Trial time  Time Trial  Devil  Sprint  Scratch  Total Position
 Euan Woodlife  38.71     1     1     1     1     4       1
 Max Jackson  44.60     2     2     2     2     8       2
 Toby Brown  48.34     4     3     3     3    13       3
 Isaac Whitten  46.86     3     4     4     5    16       4
 Jeremy Landon  50.70     5     5     5     4    19       5
 Beth Bennett  54.52     6     6     6     6    24       6
U10  One lap Time Trial time  Time Trial  Devil  Sprint  Scratch  Total  Position
  Thomas  Dixon  16.1    1    2     1     1    5      1
 Dylan Starkey  16.5    2    1     2     2    7      2
 Fin Woodliffe  17.5    3    3     3     3   12      3
 Rupert Cavill  17.9    4    4     4     4   16      4
 Henry Landon  18.6    5    5     5     5   20      5

Phae one of the Club Track Championshps were held on Wednesday 22nd June at Gosling Sports Park. All riders in the three age groups competed in the 4 event Omnium – Time Trial, Elimination (Devil), Sprint and Scratch race.
In the Under 10 group the final result came down to the sprint finish in the 4 lap scratch race – Thomas Dixon won by inches from Dylan Starkey to clinch victory.
Euan Woodliffe was the clear winner in the Under 12 group winning all four events from Max Jackson.
A close tactical battle in the under 14 category – Tom Sharples won the first two events from Joe Kiely but both riders lost out in the one lap Sprint race by watching each other and ignoring the other riders – Michael Sumner took the sprint. In the final 6 lap scratch Joe Kiely rode away from the field and won by 200m Michael Sumner beat Imogen Chastell on te line to take second spot. This resulted in a tie for first place between Joe Kiley and Mchael Sumner on 9 points. The result of the final race was used to resolve the tie which made Joe Kiely the winner of the under 14 category.
Our thanks to the band of Officials who organised the evening
The club trophies for the top riders – boys and girls – will be awarded at the Club Social Dinner in January 2017.