All posts by Welwyn Wheelers

Youth Omnium

Yesterday was the 2nd round of the 2017 Regional Youth Omnium Series. Welwyn hosted over 100 young riders in 3 age categories; U12, U14, U16 in 6 hours of impressive racing.

As a club we put on a great racing performance with Welwyn riders participating in every category.

U12 Boys      Dylan Starkey, Thomas Dixon, Tommy Liddiard, Thomas Oliver, Harry Eagle, Cormac Nisbet

U12 Girls       Beth Bennett

U14 Boys      Joe Kiely, Euan Woodliffe, Tom Sharples, Max Jackson

U14 Girls       Ellen Bennett

U16 Boys      Oli Stockwell, Archie Peet, Joe Bennett

U16 Girls       Josie Griffin

The day was a huge success with the full programme of races completed without a single incident and even the sun made an appearance! We have received some excellent feedback on how smoothly and professionally the event ran.

This would not have been possible without the enormous support of members and parents who helped with set up, gate marshal, sign on, catering, judging, holding, time keeping and clearing up – as well as those who provided the delicious cakes!

It is a lot of work to put on an event of this size and we are grateful for all the help received. It is particularly encouraging to see the knowledge and experience involved with some of the major roles being passed on to newer members of the club.

Thank you to those that volunteered (in no particular order & apologies for anyone missed out):

Faye & Tim Bennett Mark & Lucy Sharples
Robert Dixon Mike Harrington
Dani Eagle Bob Parry
Chloe & Andy Evans Henry, Annalise & Jeremy Peet
Francis Gallacher Sam & Ben Stockwell
Jax Rooney Mark & Morag Woodliffe
Elspeth & Rona Grace Peter Waghorn
Richard, Alison & Dan Maynard Dave Kiely
Chris Bodell Amanda Hayter
Claire Lewis Clare Fisk
Ellie Cadzoe Amanda Oliver
Malcolm Starkey Chris Murphy
Nick Brown Alex & Graeme Anderson
James Asker Jamie Quiggin
Sallie Bracewell Amanda Griffin

Thank you again.

Susi Sharples

Welwyn Track League 2017 Results – Round 2, 5th May

YOUTH 3 – 3 Lap Scratch

1st STARKEY, Dylan – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd QUIGGIN, Samuel – CC Ashwell

3rd DIXON, Thomas – Welwyn Wheelers


YOUTH 2 – 5 Lap Scratch

1st KIELY, Joe – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd WOODLIFFE, Euan – Welwyn Wheelers

3rd OLD, Abigail – Hillingdon Slipstreamers


YOUTH 1 – 8 Lap Scratch

1st STOCKWELL, Oliver – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd BENNETT, Joe – Welwyn Wheelers

3rd PEET, Archie – Welwyn Wheelers


SENIOR B – 10 Lap Scratch

1st HAYTER, Ian – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd GEORGALLIDES, George – Finchley Racing Team

3rd BEST, Simon – Full Gas RT

4th PAILLET, Eric – North Road CC


SENIOR A – 10 Lap Scratch

1st VERNON, Ethan – Team Corley Cycles

2nd MCCLELLAND, John – Bush Healthcare CRT

3rd PARRY , Michael  – Verulam

4th BROADWITH, Mike – Arctic Tacx


YOUTH 3 – 4 Lap Handicap Points

1st NISBET, Cormac – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd CAVILL, Rupert – Welwyn Wheelers

3rd OBRIEN, Finn – Hillingdon SS


YOUTH 2 – Team Pursuit (each rider gets 2 points each)

1st ELLISTON, Katie-Ann – Southend Wheelers

1st BENNETT, Ellen – Welwyn Wheelers

1st OLD, Abigail – Hillingdon Slipstreamers



YOUTH 1 – Team Pursuit (each rider gets 2 points each)

1st MURPHY, Oisin – Hillingdon Slipstreamers

1st STOCKWELL, Oliver – Welwyn Wheelers

1st BENNETT, Joe – Welwyn Wheelers

1st WOODLIFFE, Euan – Welwyn Wheelers


SENIOR B – A/B Handicap

1st VERNON, Ethan – Team Corley Cycles

2nd PARRY , Michael  – Verulam

3rd HAYTER, Ian – Welwyn Wheelers

4th MCCLELLAND, John – Bush Healthcare CRT


YOUTH 3 – Sprint 1

1st STARKEY, Dylan – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd QUIGGIN, Samuel – CC Ashwell

3rd DIXON, Thomas – Welwyn Wheelers


YOUTH 3 – Sprint 2

1st NISBET, Cormac – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd O’BRIEN, Bobbie – Hillingdon SS

3rd OLIVER, Tom – Welwyn Wheelers


YOUTH 3 – Sprint 3

1st CAVILL, Rupert – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd BENNETT, Beth – Welwyn Wheelers

3rd KNOTT, Dillon – Welwyn Wheelers


YOUTH 2 – Devil

1st BENNETT, Ellen – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd MARVELLY, Elizabeth – Hillingdon Slipstreamers

3rd OLD, Abigail – Hillingdon Slipstreamers


YOUTH 1 – Handicap Points

1st STOCKWELL, Oliver – Welwyn Wheelers

2nd KIELY, Joe – Welwyn Wheelers


Isle of man youth tour

Four Welwyn Wheelers travelled to the Sleepwell Hotels Isle of Man Youth Tour, a three-day event held over the Bank holiday weekend attracting the best riders from all over the country.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first stage was a short prologue time trial held along the seafront promenade. Joe Kiely got off to a flier coming 3rd in his category under 14 boys. Next Oli Stockwell and Archie Peet managed 28th and 55th respectively in the under 16 boys and Lauren Higham came in 13th in the under 16 girls.

The second stage was set on a flat 3km circuit with a howling tail wind in the home straight. In all the races the Welwyn riders were up at the front trying to initiate attacks, but it was to be a day for the sprinters with all the WW’ers boxed in, but not losing time on the general classification.

In a Grand Tour the final stage would have been called the Queen stage. Set on a wild and rugged coastline the riders had to negotiate a steep climb once a lap and cope with the gusting wind from the sea. In all races the field was blown to pieces on the first lap and a race of attrition ensued as weaker riders were dropped each lap. Joe Kiely was 2nd, Lauren managed an excellent 9th and Oli came 11th on the stage. Unfortunately Archie Peet was involved in a crash and was forced to retire with a damaged finger.

With big gaps opening up between all the riders that left Joe in second overall and 3rd in the green jersey points classification. Oli and Lauren were up to 9th on GC and Archie 61st, licking his wounds, but coming away with a fantastic experience.

All in all a very successful and enjoyable event for the Wheelers.

By David Kiely

Lots Bank Holiday Racing

At Hog Hill on Saturday Tom Sharples won the under 14 boys race having been in the leading group throughout the whole event, Rupert Cavill was 3rd in the under 10 group, Beth Bennett second under 12 girl. Joe Bennett and Jamie Dene were 4th and 12th in the under 16 boys.

Also on Sunday the Kinetic/Welwyn Womens team were in Norfolk for the Iceni Velo road race – Lesley Courtney 4th, Elspeth Grace 5th and Sophia Chastell 7th.

The following day a number of the Wheelers journeyed to Ixworth in Suffolk for the annual town centre closed circuit races on a tight course – Tom Sharples continued his winning streak by winning the under 14 race .

Dylan Starkey and Beth Bennett were 2nd in the under 12 boys and girls races respectively, while Joe Bennett was 5th in the under 18 boys event.


Time Trials

Time Trials – open to all riders 12yrs and up

Club 10m TTs

  • First event on 2 May, these will every Tuesday evening until August
  • Start and sign-on (from 6:45pm) at Cole Green – no pre-entry required
  • There will be NO ENTRY FEES for club members (non-WW riders £5)
  • We are investigating to have the A414 hard shoulder swept before the first event – no punctures!

Club 25m Championship

  • This will take place on 22 July, 2pm on the F14/25 course (Guilden Morden)
  • Pre-entry required by 11 July through CTT website (

Victoria CC TT Series (10.1miles) 

  • Friendly events that happen on four Saturday mornings through the summer on the E1/10 course (Newport, nr Bishops Stortford), with points scored over all four events (and prizes). These have been regularly supported by WW over recent years – first event is 27 May.
  • These can be ridden solo, 2-up and/or 3-up, so they make the ideal introduction to team TTs. It is even possible to combine rides and some intrepid souls have entered all 3 (solo, 2-up and 3-up) on the same day
  • Pre-entry required through CTT website ( – coordinate with your mates first if you plan to ride 2- or 3-up

Andrew Brown